Diana's Make up World



Essentials: Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil


One item I could not live without is the Shu Uemura cleansing oil. I use it every evening to remove my make up. It is very easy to use, makes my skin feel soft, and all make up is removed in two very easy steps.

There are several types of oil available depending on your skin type. So far, I have used the classic formula and the A/I formula (for sensitive skin).
I do not see any different results between the two formulations. I’m assuming that it doesn’t actually make that much difference.

If you have oily skin and are worried about using it, don’t be. It does not cause break outs, plus it stays on the skin for just a few minutes before you take it off. The only difference that you will feel is that the skin is more smooth and hydrated.

Using the oil is very easy:

  1. Take out a few pumps of oil (I use about 2-3 pumps) and smooth it over the dry face.
    (I make sure I massage it gently all over the face, including the eyes. I do this for about a 1 minute or less.)
  2. Add water to your hands and continue massaging into the face.
    (I make sure the eye area is covered too. I do this with gentle movements, making sure that I’m not moving the skin around the eyes. I make sure it gets to the lashes too.)
  3. Rinse.

After these steps all make up will be gone. It takes only 2-3 minutes max!
If by any chance I have some residue left (there isn’t any usually), I use a toner too.
What I like most about this product, is that I don’t have left over mascara to “fight” with.

One 150 ml bottle lasts over 6 months. This retails at around 28£ which can be a bit shocking, but you have to think how much time you are going to actually use it.
Th3 450 ml bottle is about 56£, which is an even better investment, as you will have it for at least a year. Though I recommend getting a sample before spending the money. (That’s what I did).

If you want to read more about oil based cleansers, this is a very good article .

What is your preferred make up remover? Most importantly, how do you get rid of waterproof mascara?


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * k Elizabeth says:

    I ♥ oil cleansers. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 12 years, 3 months ago
    • * Diana says:

      Which one is your fav?

      | Reply Posted 12 years, 3 months ago
      • * k Elizabeth says:

        I usually use olive oil straight from the pantry, but I also love the ones from Garden of Wisdom. 🙂

        Posted 12 years, 3 months ago
  2. * BeautyGeekUK says:

    I love oils in general and use them a lot, but for removing eye make-up and waterproof mascara I don’t think you can beat Bioderma; it’s just incredible! Have you tried it? If not, it’s tricky to find UK stockists but I get mine from eBay xx

    | Reply Posted 12 years, 3 months ago
    • * Diana says:

      I haven’t tried Bioderma yet, because I am very happy with this oil.
      But I’m going to France for a few days in March. Bioderma will be on the shopping list this time 🙂

      | Reply Posted 12 years, 3 months ago


Leave a comment