Diana's Make up World



Favorite jewelery and memories

[Warning: long, picture heavy post ahead]

Men joke all the time about women and jewelery. Apparently all women like shiny colorful things. That may be true, but there is a lot more to jewelery than being shiny or even the actual money value.

Some of us may collect it for value, but lots of us collect it for the memories.

I’m the second category. I own lots of silly shiny little things, with very little money value. Actually I’m so much head in the clouds that I lose jewelery all the time!

In this post I will show you my favorites, and why. Some of them are gold, silver or even Swarovsky and others are cheap costume jewelery. But all of them represent one moment of my life.

Sweet 16 (October 2000)
The first item is a gold emerald ring I got from my grandmother when I turned 16. I remember going with her to the store. At the time I would have wanted something silly like CDs and posters and clothes, but she insisted she should buy me something that I will have forever.

Sweet 16 ring from grandma

Sweet 16 ring from grandma

University graduation (June 2008):
From my parents, a set of gold and a set of silver jewelery. From the silver one, I lost the earings…


From my grandparents, a pearl necklace:

Canterbury “girly” weekend (March 2009)
One of my friends used to live in Canterbury. My other friend and I visited her for one weekend “girly” get away.
I bought these from Past Times a shop that in the meantime went bust:

Venice trip (May 2009)
Ironically, the best part of our Venice holiday was the one day we spent in Murano. Unlike Venice, Murano is very quiet and you can enjoy strolling around the canals, shops and restaurants without feeling claustrophobic.
Oh, and the best meal was in Murano too!
This was Venice:

And Murano:

“Student” trip in Prague (March 2010)
In March 2010 I met my sister and her friends in Prague for a 4 day holiday. Everyone was a student but me!
On this trip I bought a Swarovsky set, which so far, is the most expensive jewelery I bought on my own.

What do I remember the most? The freezing cold and snow! This photo is on the famous Charles bridge:

Portobello Market (August 2011):
At the famous Notting Hill Portobello Market you can find lots of cute vintage things. Also, you can find a lot of tourist trap mass market overpriced things. I bought these earrings for 10-15£ and I wear them all the time:

Birthday in Paris (October 2011)
Last year for my birthday, we went to Paris for 10 days. It was a dream holiday. There could be no Paris without shopping, and there is a few things I brought back. That includes this necklace and earrings:

Me on my 27th birthday on Pont Alexandre:

Me and Dan in Jadrin de Luxembourg:

Bonus:
My favorite memory ever is from my 26th birthday trip to Lisbon. We stayed there for 5 days, and one of the days we went outside Lisbon to Sintra. Sintra is a whole region that is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, and one of the most beautiful places I’ve seen. Here I am at highest point in the region (around 500 m high) with a 3d view of the whole region, including the Sintra Pena Palace and the ocean. This is also the point furthest I’ve been from home (Bucharest, Romania):

Pena Palace viewed from that point:

Yes, it was end of October and around 25C (77F) outside.

Hope you enjoyed this post and let me know what your favorite memories are!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Judi Tierney says:

    I LOVE this post! So great to see pics of your favorite jewelry and your trips. I hope you know how great it is you have seen so much of the world, and yet you still have the world to discover! Thank you so much for sharing with us. 🙂
    Love, Judi

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 8 months ago
    • * Diana says:

      Thanks Judi, I am really glad you like it. Both the jewelery and the moments they represent are very special to me, so it was nice to share with you and everyone else who might know me from Youtube. Make up is a big passion for me right now, but travel has always been a passion. it is something I constantly plan and dream about, and I’m very lucky to have been to these amazing places.

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

