Diana's Make up World



My story: acne part 1

This post is a bit difficult for me to write.
Fist, this is a long story!
Secondly this topic is not a nice one about pretty shiny things like eye shadows or lipsticks.
Third, acne has been my nightmare and affected my life for a long time.

I’m going to break the story into 2-3 posts, so that they don’t get too long.

I’ve had this problem since I was about 12-13 years old. When you are a teenager it has a huge impact on your self-confidence so no surprise I was shy.
As a teenager, it is implied that you will have some break outs. For me it was more than that, it was all over my face all the time. It expanded to my back too, but that area was a bit less affected.
At that point I didn’t go to see a dermatologist, I just tried all the cosmetic products I could try.
Looking back, I know that I have used some products that were too harsh and that seemed to help but actually I shouldn’t have used.

As I got older my acne didn’t get any better. I was around 21 when I went to see a dermatologist. She recommended lots of cosmetic products for me, and recommended I start taking the contraceptive pill.
The products she recommended didn’t do much difference, but within them there was a good moisturizer for oily skin. It’s this one, but as far as I know you cannot get it in the UK.
The contraceptive reduced and improved my acne problem but did not cure it.

After two years, because of other health issues, I had to stop taking contraceptives. At that point, my acne went crazy. I tried again various over the counter treatments but nothing worked. When I went to another dermatologist she gave me a mix of over the counter creams, benzoyl peroxide and antibiotic tablets. The mix she gave me was so harsh that it dried and irritated my skin instantly. But I didn’t stop it, I just continued following it by the letter. Over the 2-3 months that I was doing this, I did notice a slight improvement but nothing major.

At this point I moved to the UK. Here I did register with a GP immediately, but again, my mistake, I didn’t go to a dermatologist. When I finished the treatment from my Romanian doctor I just continued with over the counter creams and treatment including benzoyl peroxide.

Of course my acne didn’t improve, it got worse. More about that in my next post.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. My story: acne part 2 « Diana's Make up World pingbacked on 5 years, 3 months ago
  2. My story: acne part 3 – Roaccutane « Diana's Make up World pingbacked on 5 years, 2 months ago

Comments



Leave a Reply

