Diana's Make up World



January Glossybox


My January Glossybox arrived on the 31st of January. That could be counted as February’s Glossybox, not January’s Glossybox!
I was very disappointed when they announced that they will be shipping the boxes on the 27th of January. Yes, I understand that December was a special edition box, but I don’t like the excuse that this month they have another special edition Valentine’s box.

Leaving all this aside, I’m ok with the products in this month’s box.

  • Clarins Extra Firming Day Cream and Clarins Extra Firming Night Cream: the name says “extra firming”, so it’s safe to assume they are anti – wrinkle creams. As I don’t have wrinkles (just a few fine lines), it’s hard for me to comment if they live up to the claim. But, they were excellent moisturisers on this very cold London weather. They were exactly what my skin needed this week! After using them for a week, my skin feels very soft and looks generally somehow better.
    The creams are supposed to be for all skin types, but they are on the more emollient side. If you have dry, normal or even combination skin they would be ok. If you have oily prone to break out skin then better not use them.
    (Yes, what a shock, people who need anti-wrinkle creams might have break outs too!).

    Will I repurchase?
    No, because I already have a more appropriate moisturiser for my skin type. Also, the day cream does not have SPF.
  • Murad Hybrids Skin Perfecting Primer – Dewy: this is the first item that has drawn my attention in the box. It is a very good primer, and has solved my Laura Mercier foundation problem. I have no problem blending it in nicely now. What I don’t like, is that I need to apply slightly more than I normally apply with a primer. The primer is tinted, it gets clear as you blend it on the skin, but you have to blend it carefully. (That can be a pain in the morning). It is called “dewy” finish, but I couldn’t say I noticed much difference.

    Will I repurchase?
    Maybe, it is a good primer. Again, I don’t like that it doesn’t have SPF, so that could be a problem.
  • FAB Body Moisturiser: this is a fragrance free body moisturiser. It is good quality, but not spectacular. Because it has no fragrance, it has a slightly not so nice smell from the chemicals inside. That’s ok, you cannot smell it on the skin.

    Will I repurchase?
    No, I’m happy with the body moisturiser I’m already using.
  • Eyeko Skinny Eyeliner: lastly, the item I liked the least. I got the pink one, which seems to be the one most people wanted. Apparently you could use it in the waterline to open up the eyes. That could be true but, it’s not pink. It is a grayish pink at best. If you asked me, I would say it’s gray with some slight pink in it. It does open up the eyes slightly, but for me, it is very close to the colour of my skin in the eye area, so it won’t help much.
    And what I really don’t like, is that it’s not soft. No, it doesn’t glide. You have to be very careful if you want to apply it in the waterline. I’m one of those “accident prone self inflicting people”, so this is not good for me!

    Will I repurchase?
    Definitely not.

Finally, will I keep my Glossybox subscription?
Yes!
Yes, the box arrived late this month. Yes, the products I got are not life changing. However, I adore trying out new things. For a small amount I get to try out 5 “surprise” products every month. I like the idea that I don’t know what will be in the box. The “surprise” is the best part.

Leave a Reply

