Diana's Make up World



Essentials: Vaseline

Vaseline 1
I’m not reinventing the wheel with this post. These are very well known and tried products. I just want to share my views and experience.

The item that is always in my make up back, and that I always use is the Vaseline petroleum jelly tin.
I think that it moisturizes lips really well, and sometimes can be an ad hoc lip primer.
I always buy the green tin because Aloe Vera adds even more moisture.

Recently, on Youtube, one of my favorite channels Ms Gold girl has been raving about the Rose and almond oil tin. So of course, I bought it! It’s a little bit less moisturising than Aloe Vera, but it gives the most beautiful pink natural lip color. It looks very pretty on its own without any lipstick or color lipgloss!
Vaseline 2
My lips have been dry very lately, but I’m not allowed to exfoliate. This has been a huge problem for me, especially as it means that I apply lipstick. After a few months of enduring dry lips, my very smart brain has remembered about a Lisa Eldridge tutorial where she recommends the following easy steps:

  • Step 1: apply Vaseline or another lip balm to the lips
  • Step 2: gently rub the lips with a q-tip
  • Step 3: That’s it! Your lips are exfoliated now
  • It does really work! With this method my lips look normal again!

    My love affair with Vaseline doesn’t end here. Since I was a teenager I bough all kinds of body lotions, mainly because of the way they smell. Last year I decided to switch to fragrance free. After much online research I have decided to try the Vaseline Intensive Rescue moisture locking body lotion.
    I will probably continue using this from now on forever. First of all the price is great, and secondly it does work really well with my skin. Even though it’s called “intensive rescue”, and it is very hydrating, it does absorb really quickly into the skin. It’s fragrance free so it doesn’t cause any reactions to my sensitive skin which is even better.
    Vaseline 3
    I know some people avoid Vaseline because they avoid petrolatum based products. I personally do not have any problem with this ingredient. Furthermore when I started using these products when I had extremely oily skin and severe acne. They were in no way aggravated by the use of these products.
    But, again, all I can say is that they work really well for me. And I’m really happy with the price, as I don’t spend a lot of money on another, more fancy (and maybe less efficient) product.

    Trackbacks & Pingbacks

    Comments

    1. * S. says:

      I really like vaseline petroleum jelly!
      When my lips are reeeeally cracked I always look for my tin, I have the blue one 🙂

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 9 months ago


    Leave a Reply

